Land Transfer Act 2017 (No. 30 of 2017). | Land Portal

Resource information

Date of publication: 
July 2017
Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Act, consisting of 250 sections divided into five Parts and one Schedule, establishes Land title and registration requirements. The purpose of this Act is to replace the Land Transfer Act 1952 with a modern Act that: continues and maintains the Torrens system of land title in New Zealand; retains the fundamental principles of that system (which are to provide security of ownership of estates and interests in land; facilitate the transfer of and dealings with estates and interests in land; provide compensation for loss arising from the operation of the system; provide a register of land that describes and records the ownership of estates and interests in land); reflects the fact that the land transfer register is kept and operated electronically and that most dealings in land are carried out electronically; and by all of the above means, maintains the integrity of title to estates and interests in land.The following land is subject to this Act: a) land that is subject to the Land Transfer Act 1952; b) land alienated or contracted to be alienated from the Crown in fee simple after the commencement of this section; c) land made subject to this Act by or under this Act or any other Act; d) land that is, after the commencement of this section, vested in a person for a freehold estate under any other Act, including any Act relating to Māori land.

Repeals: Land Transfer Act (No. 52 of 1952). (2016-10-17)

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 

Parliamentary Counsel Office


The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. That same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both world wars.

Data provider

Share this page