Establishment of Subordinate Lands Boards Order, 1973 (Chapter 32:02). | Land Portal

Resource information

Resource Language: 
ISBN / Resource ID: 
License of the resource: 
Copyright details: 
© FAO. FAO is committed to making its content freely available and encourages the use, reproduction and dissemination of the text, multimedia and data presented. Except where otherwise indicated, content may be copied, printed and downloaded for private study, research and teaching purposes, and for use in non-commercial products or services, provided that appropriate acknowledgement of FAO as the source and copyright holder is given and that FAO's endorsement of users' views, products or services is not stated or implied in any way.

This Order of the President made under section 19 of the Tribal Land Act, 1968, establishes the Subordinate Land Boards set out in the Schedule to this Order and defines the composition and functions of these Boards. These Boards shall have jurisdiction in their respective specified areas or villages. Functions shall be transferred from Subordinate Land Authorities to the Boards and include decision making regarding ploughing of land, grazing of cattle, and communal uses of land. Furthermore these Boards shall hear and decide disputes regarding customary land, and advise the Tribal Land Board on applications for boreholes and Common Law grants.

Implements: Tribal Land Act (Chapter 32:02). (2008-12-31)
Amended by: Establishment of Subordinate Lands Boards (Amendment) Order, 1994 (S.I. No. 53 of 1992). (1994)
Amended by: Establishment of Subordinate Lands Boards (Amendment) Order, 1992 (S.I. No. 45 of 1992). (1992-00-2)

Authors and Publishers

Author(s), editor(s), contributor(s): 


Botswana Emblem

Formerly the British protectorate of Bechuanaland, Botswana adopted its new name at independence in 1966. More than four decades of uninterrupted civilian leadership, progressive social policies, and significant capital investment have created one of the most stable economies in Africa. The ruling Botswana Democratic Party has won every election since independence; President Ian KHAMA was reelected for a second term in 2014.

Data provider

Share this page