Skip to main content
Map of Kenya

Kenya

La terre et le pouvoir politique ont toujours été étroitement liés dans la trajectoire historique du Kenya. Après l'indépendance vis-à-vis des Britanniques en 1968, l'héritage d'un système dual de lois et d'administration foncières s'est perpétué. À plusieurs reprises, l'insécurité des régimes fonciers, les expulsions forcées, l'inégalité et les griefs liés à l'inégalité et à la corruption dans le secteur foncier ont contribué à la violence, comme lors des élections de 2007. En 2009, la politique foncière nationale a été approuvée, rendant obligatoire la restitution des terres aux personnes qui en ont été dépossédées et visant à renforcer le régime foncier coutumier par rapport à la propriété individuelle. La mise en œuvre de cette politique et de la constitution de 2010 est en cours et a donné lieu à un certain nombre de lois progressistes qui reconnaissent pour la première fois les terres communautaires.

Plus sur ce pays

Nouvelles Tout parcourir

Les droits fonciers des communautés sont en jeu dans un contexte d’investissements à grande échell

31 Janvier 2024

Le régime foncier devrait être bénéfique pour les communautés locales et les peuples autochtones qui possèdent et utilisent des terres.

© FAO/Anis Mili

Avec les bonnes ressources, les femmes rurales peuvent changer le monde

12 Octobre 2023

À l’échelle mondiale, une femme active sur quatre est employée dans le secteur agricole. Dans les pays à faible revenu, cette part s’élève à 62%. Pourtant, seulement 15% des terres appartiennent aux femmes. Les femmes ont aussi moins accès au crédit, ce qui rend la création d’entreprises…

Découvrez les Moments Forts de NELGA lors du Sommet sur le Climat en Afrique : Événement Parallèle sur la Gouvernance des Terres et le Changement Climatique

20 Septembre 2023

Le 7 septembre, le Réseau d’Excellence sur la Gouvernance Foncière en Afrique (NELGA) a joué un rôle essentiel lors d’un événement parallèle important lors de la Semaine du Climat en Afrique à Nairobi, Kenya. Cet événement, qui s’est tenu à la Maison/au Pavillon de l’Union africaine, s’est…

Kenya

Projects

Blogues Tout parcourir
Malawi Small Scale Livestock and Livelihoods Program

Récapitulation du webinaire : Les autorités traditionnelles en Afrique et leur rôle dans la gouvernance foncière

17 Novembre 2023

Dans le cadre d'un webinaire stimulant animé par Nolundi Luwaya, directeur du Centre de recherche sur la terre et la responsabilité de l'Université du Cap, des experts de toute l'Afrique se sont réunis pour démêler les complexités du rôle des autorités traditionnelles dans la gouvernance des…

Événements Tout parcourir
Land Corruption in Africa

L'ouverture de nouveaux horizons : Perspectives et histoires sur l'impact de la corruption foncière sur les groupes discriminés en Afrique

Ce webinaire explorera cette intersection à l'aide d'histoires provenant de tout le continent. Les intervenants montreront comment la corruption sape les programmes d'équité foncière conçus pour lutter contre la concentration des richesses et l'inégalité dans le secteur foncier en Afrique du Sud,…

Skip to main content
Map of Kenya

Kenya

Land and political power have always been closely intertwined in Kenya’s historical trajectory. After independence from the British in 1968, the legacy of a dual system of land laws and administration continued. Repeatedly, tenure insecurity, forced evictions, inequality, and grievances related to inequality and corruption in the land sector have contributed to violence, such as during the 2007 election. In 2009, the National Land Policy was approved mandating land restitution for those who have been dispossessed and aiming to strengthen customary land tenure vis-à-vis individual ownership. The implementation of the policy and the constitution of 2010 is ongoing and has resulted in a number of progressive laws that recognize community land for the first time.
Socio-economic indicators browse all

More on this country

News Browse all

Drought in Kenya: Time to Shift from Crisis to Risk Management

18 March 2022

Drought is a global problem that affects an estimated 1.5 billion people, particularly those in the Southern Hemisphere. Between the 1970s and the early 2000s the percentage of the earth’s landmass affected by severe drought has more than doubled. Drought has many unique identifiers that…

Under Fire: Forced Evictions and Arson Displace Nairobi’s Poor

12 March 2022

Urban displacements greatly diminish the living conditions of already desperate populations living on the brink of poverty. On 15 November, Minoo Kyaa, a community activist from Mukuru kwa Njenga, South Nairobi, tweeted, We keep asking each other “we unaenda wapi?” [Where are you going?] and even…

Stand for Her Land (SFHL) Campaign

Stand for Her Land Campaign Launch at International Women’s Day Regional Convening

8 March 2022

Join leaders and women’s land rights actors from across Africa and the world to celebrate International Women’s Day and our shared vision for accelerating secure women’s land rights as a foundation for achieving gender equality, women’s empowerment, and sustainable development. Women’s rights to…

Kenya

projects

Blogs Browse all
Digitization Land Records

Kenya’s Digitization of Land Records Enhances its Capacity to Monitor and Report Progress on National, Regional and Global Development Commitments

16 March 2022

In April 2021, Kenya, through the Ministry of Lands and Physical Planning (MoLPP) and the National Land Commission (NLC) achieved an unprecedented milestone in land management and administration by launching the National Land Information Management System (NLIMS) dubbed Ardhisasa. Ardhisasa is…

Events Browse all
East-Africa-land-data-ecosystem.png

State of Land Data & Information in East Africa: Catalyzing East Africa's Land Data Ecosystem

There is no doubt the Global Data Revolution has reached the land sector. Government data portals, open access academic journals, community mapping initiatives and other citizen-generated data - there is a palpable positive drive across the world that allows processes such as data collection to be…